top of page

BOOK REVIEW - SNAKES IN THE MEADOWS



"𝓢𝓸𝓶𝓮𝓸𝓷𝓮 𝔀𝓲𝓵𝓵 𝓽𝓮𝓵𝓵 𝓪 𝓼𝓽𝓸𝓻𝔂 𝓸𝓯 𝓱𝓸𝔀 𝔂𝓸𝓾 𝓭𝓲𝓮𝓭, 𝓻𝓪𝓽𝓱𝓮𝓻 𝓽𝓱𝓪𝓷 𝔂𝓸𝓾 𝓽𝓮𝓵𝓵𝓲𝓷𝓰 𝔂𝓸𝓾𝓻 𝓬𝓱𝓲𝓵𝓭𝓻𝓮𝓷 𝓱𝓸𝔀 𝔂𝓸𝓾 𝓵𝓲𝓿𝓮𝓭."


Book Name: Snakes in the Meadows

Author: Ayaz kohli

Rating: 4.7/5


I haven't read a book that shook me the way this story did, for quite a while now.

This book an amalgamation of facts and fiction was truly an emotional rollercoaster ride.

 It made me bitter, it made me cry my eyes out. For a debut novel, this was just exceptionally good. 

 ‎

The story is set in the village called Pathri Aali in 1987. 


Aslam, the son of Haji Mir a well known figure in the village falls in the love with Ashwar a girl from his school. 

Both Dreamers of marriage and many other good things in life, But the circumstances do not permit them to be United. 


Under the compulsion of the members of the kacheri ,Haji Mir fixes Aslam's marriage to another girl. 

Desperately in love with Ashwar, Aslam flees from his house to Mumbai in order to escape from getting married to another girl. ‎

While Ashwar becomes the wife of a widower , abandoning all her dreams,  and becomes the stepmother to his children. 


Years later , as men migrate to Saudi Arabia for employment, Pathri Aali becomes the abode of women and children.

 Soon the poor village gets caught between the militants and the Indian Army. 

 ‎

 ‎Promising them a Azad Kashmir the militants start to dictate the people in the village and make their life's miserable. 

 ‎

Women are exploited , Men murdered mercilessly, children became their prey.  The village which once was peaceful like  Eden had turned to Hell. 


Even after facing multiple deaths and exploitation of her children, Ashwar refuses to be cowed down by the terror and is determined not to let it devastate the once peaceful village.


 ‎Ashwar writes a letter to Aslam daring him to return and live up to the legend of their village.

He returns to Pathri Aali ,only to know how his Father and many more men were killed so mercilessly.

He joins with Ashwar and other women like Lal Jaan to fight against the enemies.


The author paints quite a picture including every human emotion possible.


I found that the overall writing flow of the story is very engaging, I finished it in like two sittings, what can I say I just couldn't put it down. 


My favorite character would be Ashwar her selfless love towards her people despite all the shame and loss,  I admire her steadfast dedication in order to attain freedom.


Another character I admired would be Aslam , he totally went from being a irresponsible majnu , to being a heroic leader to his people.


The plot is very interesting  and the pace was steady keeping me on edge , but only thing was I kept getting confused with the names every now and then.


Even after finishing the book I just couldn't stop thinking about it.

This beautiful story of Love, Sacrifice and pain bewitched me heart and mind.  

 ‎

Definitely recommend this book. 

27 views0 comments
bottom of page